Al utilizar este servicio y el contenido relacionado, aceptas el uso de cookies para análisis, contenido personalizado y publicidad.
Estás usando una versión más antigua del explorador. Usa una versión compatible para obtener la mejor experiencia en MSN.

The greatest players in the history of the Euros

Logotipo de SPORTYOU SPORTYOU 16/05/2016 sportyou
The greatest players in the history of the Euros © Getty Images The greatest players in the history of the Euros

Lev Yashin (USSR)

The greatest players in the history of the Euros © Getty Images The greatest players in the history of the Euros

Considered to be the greatest goalkeeper ever (and the only one ever to win the Ballon d'Or), Yashin was a key player in the Soviet Union side that won the 1960 tournament.

Luis Suárez (Spain)

Luis-suarez © Proporcionado por Sportyou Luis-suarez

To date, the only Spanish Ballon d'Or winner and one of the most distinguished players in the Spanish national team that conquered the title in the 1964 tournament.

Gerd Müller (West Germany)

gerd-muller © Proporcionado por Sportyou gerd-muller

One of the greatest players in the history of German football. His brace in the 1972 final against the Soviet Union made him the top scorer in the tournament with a total of four goals.

Michel Platini (France)

platini © Proporcionado por Sportyou platini

Michel Platini made history in 1984, scoring nine goals in the finals. France carried off the title that time around, beating Spain in the final by a 2-0 scoreline.

Luis Arconada (Spain)

arconada © Proporcionado por Sportyou arconada

The legendary Spanish goalkeeper was a true brick wall for the national team between 1977 and 1985, and played in the final against France, in which Miguel Muñoz's team lost 2-0 to France.

Marco Van Basten (Netherlands)

van-basten © Proporcionado por Sportyou van-basten

One of the greatest players in the history of football, and a Dutch hero. He was the top scorer in the 1988 tournament that the 'Oranje' team won, beating the Soviet Union in the final.

Ruud Gullit (Netherlands)

gullit © Proporcionado por Sportyou gullit

The history-making Netherlands side of the late 80s also had Ruud Gullit in its ranks. He scored the first goal in the final against the Soviet Union, in a game that was later clinched by Van Basten's second strike.

Peter Schmeichel (Denmark)

schmeichel © Proporcionado por Sportyou schmeichel

The Manchester United goalkeeper was the hero of the Denmark side that romped to the title in 1992.

Oliver Bierhoff (Germany)

bierhoff © Proporcionado por Sportyou bierhoff

Germany carried off the 1996 tournament, held in England, with the decisive strike coming from Oliver Bierhoff, a Golden Goal in extra time against the Czech Republic.

Zinedine Zidane (France)

zidane © Proporcionado por Sportyou zidane

Now the Real Madrid manager, Zidane was the orchestra director of the French national team for many years and led 'Les Bleus' to victory in the 2000 tournament, held in France.

Angelos Charisteas (Greece)

charisteas © Proporcionado por Sportyou charisteas

The Greek side surprised everyone in 2004 when they beat Portugal, the hosts, with a goal from the then Werder Bremen striker.

Xavi Hernández (Spain)

xavi © Proporcionado por Sportyou xavi

The midfielder was a key component of the Spain team that won in 2008 under the stewardship of Luis Aragonés.

Gestión anuncios
Gestión anuncios
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon