You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Sharjah reign supreme

Khaleej Times logo Khaleej Times 15/04/2018
Sharjah reign supreme © Provided by Khaleej Times Sharjah reign supreme

Sharjah Cricket Council beat Dubai Cricket Council by eight wickets to be crowned the Emirates Cricket 'UAE Cricket Leagues' men's T20 Champions 2018.

Having won the toss Sharjah sent Dubai in to bat and were on the front foot from the onset.

An impressive performance from a tight Sharjah unit stunned Dubai where Saif Ullah and Mohammad Naveed claimed four wickets in first four overs for a paltry 11 runs.

Only two batsmen could reach double figures, and, despite Mohammad Qasim's 56-runs (off 51-balls) and Mohammad Ali's 24-runs (off 22-balls), Dubai were only able to post 117 for the loss of nine wickets.

After losing opener Syed Maqsood in the 3rd over, Sharjah's Abdul Shakoor (58 not out) and Rohan Mustafa (42) dug in and added an 80-run partnership to set up Sharjah's win in the 18th over.

Rohan Mustafa, Sharjah captain applauded the team's win and the series: "We are absolutely thrilled to win the inaugural tournament. It is a great boost for cricket in Sharjah, as well as for UAE Cricket. This series is a great opportunity for players, representing their Councils, to play and perform through this type of tournament and to be seen by UAE (Cricket) scouts and selectors."

Bringing together the four Councils of Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai and Sharjah, the men's T20 series was the third series in the inaugural UAE Cricket leagues. The leagues consist of the highly-popular formats of T20 and 50-over formats, played in boys, women's and men's categories, and will be played through a 28 match-schedule across the UAE.

More from Khaleej Times

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon