You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Goa polls: Congress puts out 2nd list, Michael Lobo to contest from Calangute

India Today logo India Today 18-01-2022 India Today Web Desk

Congress has released its second list of candidates for Goa Assembly polls. Former BJP MLA Michael Lobo will contest from Calangute.

Michael Lobo, who was a minister under chief minister Pramod Sawant, quit the BJP to join the Congress around a week before the Assembly elections were notified.

ALSO READ | Why defection of Michael Lobo could be problematic for BJP in Goa

Michael Lobo, a strongman from North Goa, was the minister for science, technology, and waste management in the BJP-led Goa government. While joining Congress, Lobo had said, "The voters told me that the BJP is no more a party of the common people." "The Congress is working for the common people. It will return to power with more than 25 seats," he had said. His wife Delilah, the sarpanch of Parra, too, quit BJP and followed into the Congress.

Among the other candidates named in Congress's second list are:

Meghashayam Raut Bicholim

Aman Lotliker Tivim

Vikas Prabhudessai Porvorim

Anthony L Fernandes St Andre

Dharamesh Saglani Sanquelim

Lavu Mamlekar Marcaim

Prasad Gaonkar Sanguem

Janardan Bhandari Canacona

The Assembly election in Goa will take place on February 14. The result will be out on March 10.

Also read | Go Goa Gone: 24 of 40 MLAs in Goa Assembly switched parties over last 5 years

Watch Live TV in English

Watch Live TV in Hindi

More from India Today

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon