You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

TMC set to return to power in Bengal, Left in Kerala, BJP in Assam; DMK looking at landslide win in Tamil Nadu

India Today logo India Today 02-05-2021 India Today Web Desk
a group of people sitting at a train station

The results of the Assembly elections in four states and one Union Territory (UT) are being declared. Mamata Banerjee's TMC looked set for a big win despite 10 years of anti-incumbency, while the BJP surged to retain power in Assam.

In Kerala, Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan bucked the anti-incumbency trend, but it was not so for Tamil Nadu CM Edappadi Palaniswami of the AIADMK as DMK's MK Stalin looked set to replace him in an emphatic victory. In the UT of Puducherry, the NDA cruised to form the next government.



Of the 292 seats that went to the polls in West Bengal, the TMC had either won or led on 215 seats, while the number for the BJP was 76.

In her first exclusive interview, TMC chief and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee slammed the Election Commission of India, saying the poll panel worked like the "BJP's spokesperson" during the election.

Jagat Prakash Nadda, Narendra Modi are posing for a picture © Provided by India Today
BJP office in Kolkata wears a deserted look on Sunday (Photo Credits: PTI)

Speaking to India Today TV, Mamata Banerjee said the BJP's tally would not have crossed even 50 without help from the Election Commission.

Meanwhile, in a tweet, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Mamata Banerjee and said the Centre will continue to extend all possible support to the West Bengal government.


The BJP-led alliance (including AGP and UPPL) had either won or led on 76 seats, while the number for the Congress-led coalition (including AIUDF and BPF) was 48. The Assam Legislative Assembly has 126 seats.

BJP national president JP Nadda thanked the people of Assam for giving the party a second consecutive term in the state.

He also said in a tweet, "Over the past 5 years, Assam has witnessed tremendous growth in all sectors with the double engine Gov. People have completely rejected the communal politics of the Congress & chosen the development politics of BJP. With the guidance of PM Modi, the state will now reach new heights."


The Left-led LDF had either won or led on 95 seats, while the number for the Congress-led UDF was 43. The Kerala Legislative Assembly has 140 seats.

Addressing the media, Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan said, "This is a victory of the masses. The people of Kerala deserve credit for this success. We believed in the people of the state and they believed in us too."

"Happy that LDF has been voted back to power but this is not the time to celebrate it, amid the pandemic," he added.


MK Stalin's DMK-led alliance (including Congress, Left, VCK and IUML) had either won or led from 148 seats, while the number for CM Edappadi K. Palaniswami's AIADMK-led alliance (including PMK and BJP) was 84. The Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly has 234 seats.

© Provided by India Today
Polling agents of political parties inspecting a strong room in Chennai on Sunday (Photo Credits: PTI)

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik congratulated MK Stalin on the DMK's electoral sweep in Tamil Nadu. "All the very best for a successful tenure," said the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief.

Rahul Gandhi of the Congress also congratulated the DMK chief. "People of Tamil Nadu have voted for change and we will, under your leadership, prove to be a confident step in that direction," said the former Congress president.


The NDA comprising AINRC, BJP and AIADMK had either won or led on 14 seats, while the number for the UPA of Congress and DMK was 06. The Puducherry Legislative Assembly has 30 seats.

Meanwhile, at a press conference Sunday, Congress general secretary and party spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala said the results of the assembly elections in four states and one UT are not as per the party's expectations.

"Kerala and Assam results have been below expectations. Results in both these states are a big disappointment. We will do an assembly-wide assessment and try to come up with reasons," said Surjewala.

The Congress spokesperson also said that the party applauds the people of Bengal for the verdict.

More from India Today

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon