You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Umno polls: Ahmad Bashah makes comeback, Najib's son wins in Langkawi

New Straits Times logo New Straits Times 18/3/2023 Adie Zulkifli
© Provided by New Straits Times

ALOR STAR: Former Kedah menteri besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah sealed his comeback to active politics after winning the Alor Star Umno division chief post in the party election today.

Based on unofficial results, Bashah, 73, defeated the division's deputy chief Zambri Mat, 44, in a straight fight to reclaim the post after stepping down as division chief five years ago.

Zambri was appointed as the division's acting chief last year following Umno's decision to suspend its division chief, Datuk Mohd Yusof Ismail, for six years.

In Jerai, state Umno liaison committee chairman Datuk Seri Jamil Khir Baharom retained his division chief post in a four-cornered fight.

Jamil Khir defeated Datuk Ikmal Ismail, Datuk Mohd Fadzillah Mohd Ali and two-term Jerai Umno Youth chief Khairul Nizam Mohd Rodzi.

Meanwhile, Datuk Mohd Nazifuddin Najib, the son of former prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak emerged as the youngest division chief in Kedah following a surprise win in Langkawi.

Naziffuddin, 39, beat former Kuah assemblyman Nor Saidi Nanyan in a straight fight for the Langkawi Umno division chief post.

Saidi, who is also the division deputy chief, was appointed as the acting chief following the death of Datuk Nawawi Ahmad in November.

In the Kubang Pasu division, former deputy minister Datuk Johari Baharom's bid to stage a comeback fell flat after he lost to Datuk Aminuddin Omar in the race for the division chief post.

In Kuala Kedah, Datuk Abdul Muthalib Harun emerged victorious in an intense four-cornered battle for the division chief post.

Muthalib, who has been holding the division's vice-chief past for the past three terms, defeated three other candidates for the post.

The other three candidates were the division's acting chief Dr Zaki Zamani Abdul Rashid, Zainal Alam Bakar and Mohd Zamil Zubir.

Other incumbent division chiefs namely Datuk Seri Abdul Azeez Rahim (Baling), Datuk Said Ali Syed Rastan (Pokok Sena), Datuk Suraya Yaacob (Pendang) and Datuk Muhar Hussain (Kulim-Bandar Baharu) retained their post in the polls, based on unofficial results.

© New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd

More From New Straits Times

New Straits Times
New Straits Times
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon