You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Is the Stock Market Open on Thanksgiving and Black Friday 2021?

Kiplinger logo Kiplinger 11/24/2021 Kyle Woodley
© Provided by Kiplinger

The good news is, investors will indeed get a Turkey Day break from their brokerage accounts. The stock market is indeed closed on Thanksgiving Day.

But don't call it a four-day weekend: Investors still need to show up on Black Friday.

At least for a few hours.

In 2021, the stock market is closed all day on Thursday, Nov. 25, as America celebrates Thanksgiving Day. That said, stocks will begin trading on Black Friday at the normal market time, but it will be a shortened trading day. On Friday, Nov. 26, the market will close at 1 p.m.

The bond market has a similar holiday schedule, closing on Thanksgiving Day and opening for a partial session (closing at 2 p.m.) on Black Friday.

2021 Market Holidays


Video: CNBC Markets Now: November 22, 2021 (CNBC)

UP NEXT
UP NEXT
DateHoliday NYSE Nasdaq Bond Markets*
Friday, Jan. 1 New Year's Day Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Jan. 18 Martin Luther King Jr. Day Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Feb. 15 Presidents' Day/Washington's Birthday Closed Closed Closed
Friday, April 2 Good Friday Closed Closed

Early close

(Noon)

Friday, May 28 Friday Before Memorial Day Open Open

Early close

(2 p.m.)

Monday, May 31 Memorial Day Closed Closed Closed
Friday, July 2 Friday Before Independence Day Open Open

Early close

(2 p.m.)

Monday, July 5 Independence Day (Observed) Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Sept. 6 Labor Day Closed Closed Closed
Monday, Oct. 11 Columbus Day Open Open Closed
Thursday, Nov. 11 Veterans Day Open Open Closed
Thursday, Nov. 25 Thanksgiving Day Closed Closed Closed
Friday, Nov. 26 Day After Thanksgiving

Early close

(1 p.m.)

Early close

(1 p.m.)

Early close

(2 p.m.)

Thursday, Dec. 23 Day Before Christmas Eve Open Open

Early close

(2 p.m.)

Friday, Dec. 24 Christmas Eve (Christmas Day Observed) Closed Closed Closed
Friday, Dec. 31 New Year's Eve Open Open

Early close

(2 p.m.)

* This is the recommended bond market holiday schedule from the Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA). This schedule is subject to change.

Stock Market Holiday Observations

When it comes to the stock and bond markets alike, if a holiday falls on a weekend, market closures are dictated by two rules:

  • If the holiday falls on a Saturday, the market will close on the preceding Friday.
  • If the holiday falls on a Sunday, the market will close on the subsequent Monday.

Stock and Bond Market Hours

The "core trading" stock market hours for the NYSE and Nasdaq are 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. on weekdays. However, both exchanges offer premarket trading hours between 4 and 9:30 a.m., as well as late trading hours between 4 and 8 p.m.

Bond markets typically trade between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

The stock markets close at 1 p.m. on early-closure days; bond markets close early at 2 p.m.

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from Kiplinger

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon