You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Ariana Grande’s latest album, ‘Positions,’ tops new releases

The Plain Dealer  Cleveland logo The Plain Dealer Cleveland 10/28/2020 Gary Graff,

CLEVELAND, Ohio – If you’ve at all resisted going to the record store, or your favorite digital retailer, up 'til now, a week of big-name and also very hip releases might just break your resolve this week (all subject to change)...

Albums of the week: The toppermost of the popermost eclipses all as a pair of chart fixtures roll out their latest works. After the sweet success of “Ice Cream” with Selena Gomez and Blackpink this year, Ariana Grande’s sixth album, “Positions” (Republic), rolls out featuring collaborations with The Weeknd, Doja Cat and Ty Dolla $ign. From across the pond, meanwhile, Sam Smith delivers his third album “Love Goes” (Capitol), with its own crew of guests including Demi Lovato, Calvin Harris and Labrinth.

Album title of the week: Mr. Bungle, “The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo” (Ipecac).

Did ya know? Nashville guitarist Slim Gambill, whose regular gig is with Lady A, has put together an all-star track called “Twenty-Four on Six” to benefit MusiCares Covid-19 Musicians Relief Fund. A mash-up of Stevie Wonder’s “I Wish” and Wes Montgomery’s “4 on 6,” the tune features contributions by Eric Johnson, Mike Stern, Stanley Jordan and members of Rival Sons and the Brothers Osborne, among others, as well as vocalists Kurt Elling, David Ryan Harris and more. Available exclusively via

New & noteworthy: Black Stone Cherry, “The Human Condition” (Mascot); Cam, “The Otherside” (Triple Tigers/RCA); Elvis Costello, “Hey Clockface” (Concord); I Prevail, “Post Traumatic” (Fearless); Midnight Oil, “The Makarrata Project” (Sony); Puscifer, “Existential Reckoning” (Alchemy/Puscifer Entertainment/BMG); Trippie Redd, “Pegasus” (Ten Thousand Projects); Busta Rhymes, “Extinction Event Level 2: The Wrath of God” (Empire); Wesley Schultz, “Vignettes” (Dualtone); Harry Shearer, “The Many Moods of Donald Trump” (self-released).

Also out: Against the Current, “That Won’t Save Us” (Fueled By Ramen); Antiboy, Glitch in Paradise" (self-released); ARO, aka Aimee Osbourne, “Vacare Adamare” (Make); Badi and Boddhi Satva, “Trouble-Fete” (Batakari); Black Foxxes, “Black Foxxes” (Search and Destroy/Spinefarm); Bring Me the Horizon, “Post Human: Survival Horror” (Columbia); Chamomile and Whiskey, “Red Clay Heart” (County Wide); Chicago Jazz Collective, “It Takes a Spark to Light a Fire” (J-Marq); Convulse, “Deathstar” (Transcending); Creature Comfort, “Home Team” (self-released); Davido, “A Better Time” (RCA); Discrepancies, “The Rise” (In Vogue); Doe, “Doe” (Life Room/RCA Inspirational); Eels, “Earth to Dora” (E Works/[PIAS]); Evildead, “United States of Anarchy” (SPV/Steamhammer); The Flower Kings, “Islands” (InsideOut); food house, “food house” (Dog Show); Front Country, “Impossible World” (AntiFragile); David Garfield, “Holidays Outside the Box” (Creatchy); Go Analog, “Moonlight Gram” (self-released); Johnny Goth, “The Great Awakening”; Evan Harpe, “Meet Me in the Middle” (VizzTone); Dave Hause, “Patty” and “Paddy” (self-released); Deante Hitchcock, “Better Deluxe” (Storm Entertainment/RCA); Hollywood Stars, “Live on the Sunset Strip” (Burger); Jeremiah Johnson, “Unemployed Highly Annoyed” (Ruf); Junk Magic, “Compass Confusion” (Pyroclastic); King Khan, “The Infinite Ones” (Khannibalism/Ernest Jenning Record Co.); Lunchbox, “After School Special” (Slumberland); Andy Macdonald, “The Human Demands” (Infectious Music); Arthur Mendes, “Fading Away” (VizzTone); Multi Story, “CBF10” (F2 Music); Nothing, “The Great Dismal” (Relapse); Nuclear Power Trio, “A Clear and Present Danger” (Metal Blade); The OBGMs, “The Ends” (Black Box Music); Oneohtrix Point Never, “Magic Oneohtrix Point Never” (Warp); Tom Oren, “Dorly’s Song” (Concord Jazz); Colin Raye, “Scars” (BFD); Ring Van Mobius, “3rd Majesty” (Apollon); Suzzy Roche and Lucy Wainwright, “I Can Still Hear You” (Story Sound); Serpents of Secrecy, “Ave Vindicta” (Moving the Earth); Shungudzo, “Motsi” (Young Forever/BMG); Sarah & the Safe Word, “Good Gracious! Bad People” (Take This to Heart); Smokescreens, “A Strange Dream” (Slumberland); Mors Subita, “Extinction Era” (Out of Line); Stalker, “Black Majik Terror” (Napalm); Strays Don’t Sleep, “A Short Film For a Long Song” (Bandcamp); Zach Tabori, “Pandemic Ballads” (Flesh Fury); Tobacco, “Hot Wet & Sassy” (Ghostly); Tomorrow X Together, “Minisode 1: Blue Hour”' (Republic); Twice, “Eyes Wide Open” (Republic); Various Artists, “Johnny Jewel Presents After Dark 3” (After Dark); Nora Jean Wallace, “Blueswoman” (Severen); Wild Hid, “with u in mind” (The Orchard); wino-strut & Friends, “Bloodsicle” (American Standard Time); Hawksley Workman, “Less Rage More Tears” (self-released); World Goes Round, “World Goes Round” (Viper); Wynonna, “Recollections” (Anti-/Epitaph); Yes, “The Royal Affair Tour: Live From Las Vegas” (BMG); Yumi Zouma, “Truth or Consequences (Alternate Versions)” (Polyvinyl).

From the vaults: Allman Brothers Band, “Warner Theatre, Erie, PA 7-19-05” (Allman Brothers Band Recording Co./The Orchard); Crass, “Crassical Collection” (One Little Independent); Duran Duran, “Dreaming of Your Cars: 1979 Demos Part 2” (Cleopatra); Embrace, “Out of Nothing” and “The New Day” (Craft); Grateful Dead, “American Beauty (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)” (Grateful Dead/Warner/Rhino); Gwar, “Scumdogs of the Universe (30th Anniversary Edition)” (Pit); Zubin Mehta, “The Complete Warner Recordings” (Warner Classical); Joni Mitchell, “Archives Vol. 1: The Early Years (1963-1967)” (Rhino); Motorhead, “Ace of Spades: 40th Anniversary Edition” (Sanctuary/BMG); Stevie Nicks, “Live in Concert: The 24 Karat Gold The Concert” (BMG); OutKast, “Stankonia: 20th Anniversary Edition” (Sony Legacy); The Pogues, “The BBC Sessions 1984-86” (Rhino); Pantera, “Reinventing the Steel: 20th Anniversary Edition” (Rhino); Procol Harum, “Something Magic: Remastered & Expanded Edition” (Esoteric/Cherry Red); Rhinoceros, “The Elektra Albums 1968-1970” (Polydor/UMC); Style Council, “Long Hot Summers: The Story of the Style Council” (Polydor/UMe); U2, “All that You Can’t Leave Behind: 20th Anniversary Edition” (Island/UMe); Townes Van Zandt, “Legend: The Very Best of Townes Van Zandt” (Charly); Various Artists, “Brown Acid: The Eleventh Trip” (RidingEasy); Jimmy Vaughan, “The Pleasure’s All Mine: The Complete Blues, Ballads and Favorites Collection” (Last Music Co.); The Who, “Essential Who” (UMC).

New holiday albums: Lady A, "On This Winter’s Night (Deluxe Edition) (Capitol Nashville); Andrew Bird, “Hark!” (Loma Vista); For King & Country, “A Drummer Boy Christmas” (Curb/Word); Goo Goo Dolls, “It’s Christmas All Over” (Warner); JoJo, “December Baby” (Warner); Tori Kelly, “A Tori Kelly Christmas” (School Boy/Capitol); Meghan Trainor, “A Very Trainor Christmas” (Epic).


©2020 The Plain Dealer, Cleveland

Visit The Plain Dealer, Cleveland at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.


More From The Plain Dealer

The Plain Dealer  Cleveland
The Plain Dealer Cleveland
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon