You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Candidates certified for 3 Mississippi House special races

WAPT Jackson logo WAPT Jackson 1/25/2019
a close up of a sign: House of Representatives Special Races © Provided by Hearst Television, Inc. House of Representatives Special Races

Candidates have been certified to run in three special elections for the Mississippi House.

The nonpartisan races are March 12. Runoffs, if needed, are April 2.

Troy D. Brown Sr. and Solomon Osborne are running in District 32 in Leflore County. Former Rep. Willie Perkins resigned to become a chancery judge.

Edelia J. Carthan, Ronnie Crudup Jr. and Stephanie Skipper are running in District 71 in Hinds County. Former Rep. Adrienne Wooten resigned to become a circuit judge.

Gary L. Crist, Kent McCarty, Steven Utroska, Daniel Waide and Andrew Waites are running in District 101 in Lamar County. Former Rep. Brad Touchstone resigned to become a youth court judge.

Perkins and Wooten served in the House as Democrats and Touchstone as a Republican. They won nonpartisan judicial races.

READ MORE:Candidates certified for 3 Mississippi House special races

CHECK OUT WAPT:Get the latest Jackson, MS, news. With top local, national, and sports stories, plus all the Jackson weather info you need, WAPT is the place to be.


More from WAPT Jackson

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon