You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Manhattan candidates reel in public matching dollars

AMNY logo AMNY 4/16/2021 Ariama C. Long
map © Provided by AMNY The Campaign Finance Board (CFB) [1] yesterday doled out a whopping $23.3 million in public matching funds to candidates running for office this year, tacking onto the already historic $72.2 million they’ve given out in funds in these and any other races for the last 32 years, said the CFB. More candidates are registered to run in the 2021 elections than in any previous New York City election cycle, and more than 71 percent [2] of the individual contributions raised are from New York City residents, said CFB. To qualify for public funds, candidates must meet fundraising thresholds demonstrating support from within their communities, in City Council races that means candidates must raise at least $5,000 from city residents and at least 75 contributions from residents of the district where they are running, said CFB. The CFB then provides matching funds to qualifying candidates, $8 for every $1 they raise, up to the first $175 for donations to City Council and Borough President candidates. Overall, 20 candidates for borough president, and 206 City Council candidates have qualified for public funds payments with 103 receiving a maximum public funds payment today, April 15, said CFB [3].   Here’s a breakdown of what Manhattan candidates received yesterday in the borough president’s race and by city council district: Borough President- Lindsey Boylan $92,796 Elizabeth Caputo $109,579 Brad Hoylman $201,522 Benjamin Kallos $126,499 Mark Levine $9,221 City Council- DISTRICT 1   Susan Lee $43,814 Gigi Li $166 DISTRICT 3 Leslie Boghosian Murphy $21,014 Phelan-Dante Fitzpatrick $23,264 Marni Halasa $5,753 Aleta LaFargue $17,100 Arthur Schwartz $36,267 DISTRICT 5 Rebecca Lamorte $37,084 Christopher Sosa $8,793 DISTRICT 6 Gale Brewer $160,444 Maria Danzilo $160,444 David Gold $16,948 DISTRICT 7 Shaun Abreu $95 Stacy Lynch $48,853 Lena Melendez $5,130 Corey Ortega $10,925 Raymond Sanchez $129,078 Luis Tejada $4,788 DISTRICT 9 Cordell Cleare $42,484 Joshua Clennon $26,494 Billy Council $41,306 Ruth McDaniels $46,413 Athena Moore $99,552 Keith Taylor $23,651 DISTRICT 10 Josue Perez $33,820 [1] [2] [3]

More From AMNY

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon