You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Voters Cast Ballots For Evanston Mayor, Clerk, 2 Council Seats

Patch logo Patch 2/22/2021 Jonah Meadows
a sign in front of a mirror: The race for Evanston mayor, city clerk, 4th Ward alderman and 8th Ward alderman are all on the Feb. 23 primary election ballot. © Jonah Meadows/Patch, File The race for Evanston mayor, city clerk, 4th Ward alderman and 8th Ward alderman are all on the Feb. 23 primary election ballot.

EVANSTON, IL — In Tuesday's municipal primary election, Evanston voters will narrow down the number of candidates in four races, including the city's two citywide elected positions.

If a candidate for mayor receives more than half of the ballots cast, that person will win outside and skip an April 6 runoff. In the aldermanic races in the 4th Ward and 8th Ward, as well as the race for city clerk, the top-two vote getters will advance to the runoff.

While the mayor primary was triggered when three candidates submitted nominating petitions, as required by a local referendum, the other three primaries are the result of write-in candidates. Under state law, a primary must be held any time there are five or more declared candidates for a nonpartisan municipal election.

Here's a rundown of who's on the Feb. 23 ballot and links to recent debates, forums and candidate interviews. Write-in candidates who do not appear to be actively campaigning are not included.

Mayor: Daniel Biss vs. Lori Keenan vs. Sebastian Nalls

Evanston Live TV Feb. 2 Mayoral DebateLeague of Women Voters of Evanston Jan. 30 Candidate ForumEvanston Roundtable Candidate Interview

Democratic Party of Evanston (DPoE) Interview with Daniel BissDPoE Interview with Lori KeenanDPoE Interview with Sebastian NallsEvanston Patch Candidate Questionnaire: Daniel Biss

Evanston Patch Candidate Questionnaire: Sebastian Nalls

City Clerk: Stephanie Mendoza vs. six write-in candidates (Cynthia Beebe, Eduardo Gomez, Adedapo Odusanya, Jackson Paller, Darrell Patterson, Misty Witenberg)

Evanston Live TV City Clerk Forum

League of Women Voters City Clerk Forum

Democratic Party of Evanston (DPoE) Interview with Stephanie MendozaDPoE interviews with write-in candidates: Cynthia Beebe, Eduardo Gomez, Jackson Paller, Misty WitenbergEvanston Patch Candidate Questionnaire: Cynthia Beebe

Evanston Patch Candidate Questionnaire: Jackson Paller

Evanston Patch Candidate Questionnaire: Misty Witenberg

4th Ward: Diane Goldring vs. Jonathan Nieuwsma vs. Don Wilson (incumbent) vs. two write-in candidates (Patricia Connolly, Sari Karison-Shapiro)

League of Women Voters 4th Ward Forum

Evanston RoundTable 4th Ward Candidate Interview

DPoE Interview with Diane Goldring

DPoE Interview with Jonathan Nieuwsma

DPoE Interview with Don WilsonEvanston Patch Candidate Questionnaire: Jonathan Nieuwsma

8th Ward: Matthew Mitchell vs. Ann Rainey (incumbent) vs. Devon Reid vs. three write-in candidates (Shelley Ann Carrillo, Joshua Hall, Christine Leone)

League of Women Voters 8th Ward Forum

Evanston Roundtable 8th Ward Candidate Interview

DPoE Interview with Matthew Mitchell

DPoE Interview with Ann Rainey

DPoE Interview with Devon Reid


More from Patch

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon