You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Mental Health, Addiction and Recovery Services Board of Lorain County announces new officers

The Morning Journal logo The Morning Journal 7/2/2022 The Morning Journal, Lorain, Ohio

Jul. 2—The Mental Health, Addiction and Recovery Services (MHARS) Board of Lorain County's Board of Directors voted at its June 28 meeting on new officers for the 2023 Fiscal Year, according to a news release.

The officers for this one-year term will include: Dan Urbin, who will continue to serve as chair; James Schaeper, vice chair; Dr. Hope Moon, chair of governance; and Sandra Premura, treasurer.

"With several important priorities ahead, one of the most notable of which is the construction of the Lorain County Crisis Receiving Center, the Board has been tasked with some of the biggest improvements to crisis care in Lorain County since its merger in 2019," Urbin said. "I look forward to continuing to serve as the Board chair and working with my fellow Board members, the Lorain County commissioners, community leaders and residents."

Under Ohio Revised Code 340, the volunteer Board of Directors has the legal responsibility for the planning, funding and monitoring of community mental health and alcohol and other addiction treatment services in Lorain County.

The Board of Directors also bid farewell to two retiring longtime Board members Dr. Denise Eacott and Karen Sutera, according to the release.

"It has been a privilege to work with Dr. Denise Eacott and Karen Sutera," said MHARS Board Executive Director Michael Doud. "I thank them for years of invaluable service to the Board and dedication to improving mental health, addiction and recovery services for those in need and their loved ones in Lorain County."

Currently, there are two Board of Directors vacancies that must be filled.

Board members are not compensated and must complete an application and interview process before being appointed by the Lorain County Board of Commissioners or Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addictions Services.

Applications can be found on our website by clicking here.

Submit completed applications to Patrice McKinney at

Prospective Board members must be residents of Lorain County and have an interest in mental health and/or addiction.

In addition, a Board member may not be related to any Lorain County commissioner.

A Board member may not serve on the Board of any agency under contract with the Board or be employed by any such agency.

A Board member may not be employed by or be related to anyone employed by the MHARS Board.

To learn more, visit

(c)2022 The Morning Journal, Lorain, Ohio Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.


More from The Morning Journal

The Morning Journal
The Morning Journal
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon