You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

New Law Would Allow Drunk Drivers In NJ To Get Their Drivers License Back Faster

WCBS Radio New York logo WCBS Radio New York 8/24/2019 Steve Burns
a man holding a phone © Provided by Entercom Radio, LLC

NEWARK, N.J. (WCBS 880) -- A new law reform in New Jersey would allow convicted drunk drivers to get their drivers license back faster.

...listen to the audio...

Drivers that have been convicted of drunk driving would no longer have to wait the mandatory 45 days and can get their license back immediately as long as they have an ignition interlock device installed.

The driver would have have blow into the breathalyzer before car starts.

"It's been working throughout the country. The data is clear."

Steven Benvenisti is a lawyer and a Mothers Against Drunk Driving boardmember that barely survived a drunk driver crashing into him 30 years ago says that "50 to 75 percent of those convicted drunk drivers started to operate their motor vehicles, even though they didn't have a driver's license."

Benvenisti wants every person who's convicted of drunk driving to be required to install an ignition interlock device in their car, "as a precondition to returning to the roadway."

He says states that have this plan have seen dramatic reductions in drunk driving offenses.

In a statement, Governor Phil Murphy says offenders can still support themselves and their families, as long as they're driving sober.

The new law will take effect Jan. 1, and is scheduled to expire after five years.

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from WCBS Radio New York

WCBS Radio New York
WCBS Radio New York
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon