You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

When does Daylight Saving Time end in 2021? When do clocks fall back this year? Daylight Savings Time explained. logo 10/15/2021 Jeff Goldman,

While autumn started more than three weeks ago, we still have another three-plus weeks until Daylight Saving Time ends and our clocks get turned back an hour.

Daylight Saving Time ends at 2 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 7, 2021, when the clock will “fall back” one hour.

The sun will set in Newark at 5:47 p.m. on Nov. 6. The following day, sunset is more than an hour earlier — at 4:46 p.m. Days will continue to get shorter until Dec. 21 when the winter solstice arrives. Then the length of days will begin to increase until the summer solstice on June 21, 2022.

Why do we have Daylight Saving Time?

While daylight saving time has been around since World War I, the United States didn’t formalize it until the Uniform Time Act in 1966. Daylight Saving Time starts the second Sunday in March and concludes the first Sunday in November.

What is Daylight Saving Time?

Daylight Saving Time is the concept of making better use of the day’s light by moving an hour of daylight from the morning to the evening.

What is the purpose of Daylight Saving Time?

According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, the time change saves energy along with lowering crime and traffic accidents. Various studies, however, have disputed those benefits over the years.

What time do we turn back the clocks?

Clocks officially “fall back” at 2 a.m. on the first Sunday in November to 1 a.m.

When did Daylight Saving Time start and when will it end in 2021

Daylight Saving Time started on Sunday, March 14, 2021 and will end on Sunday, Nov. 7, 2021 — a run of 238 days.

When does Daylight Saving Time start and end in 2022?

We next turn the clocks ahead on March 13, 2022 — 126 days after turning them back. Daylight Saving Time in 2022 will end on Nov. 6, 2022.

What is the history of Daylight Saving Time?

The concept dates back more than a century when English architect William Willett proposed the idea to change the clocks in 1907 in The Waste of Daylight. The suggestion of using daylight more efficiently can be traced to Benjamin Franklin. While visiting in Paris in 1784, he wrote a letter to the editors of the Journal of Paris calling for a tax on every Parisian whose windows were shuttered after sunrise to “encourage the economy of using sunshine instead of candles,” according to Michael Downing, author of Spring Forward: The Annual Madness of Daylight Saving Time.

What states don’t observe Daylight Saving Time?

Hawaii and most of Arizona do not observe Daylight Saving Time. The time change is also not observed in U.S. territories of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Five states (Alabama, Georgia, Minnesota, Mississippi and Montana) have enacted legislation to make Daylight Saving Time permanent. Those changes, however, require federal approval. Others also have bills pending in state legislatures.

A pair of provinces in Canada — Saskatchewan and Yukon have adopted permanent daylight saving.

About 70 countries observe Daylight Saving Time. Most of North America, Europe and parts of South America and New Zealand adhere to it, while China, Japan, India and most countries do not.

It starts on different dates elsewhere. In Australia for example, Daylight Saving Time started Oct. 3.

Our journalism needs your support. Please subscribe today to

Jeff Goldman may be reached at


More From

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon