You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Ashcraft takes aim at another Men's City title

Lubbock Avalanche-Journal logo Lubbock Avalanche-Journal 9/6/2019 By Don Williams A-J Media, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Texas
a man wearing a hat: Speck © Lubbock Avalanche-Journal/Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Texas/TNS Speck

The past six years, six different golfers have won the individual Men's City Championship.

Blake Ashcraft will try to put a stop to that trend this weekend.

Ashcraft is the defending Men's City champion as the three-day tournament gets under way Friday at Meadowbrook. The first and third rounds are scheduled on Meadowbrook's par-72 Canyon Course, and the second round will unfold on the par-70 Creek Course.

Ashcraft won his second Lubbock major title last September at Meadowbrook, overtaking 36-hole leader Chris Speck for a two-shot victory with a final-round 70.

Speck, who played on a New Mexico Class 4A state-championship team at Artesia, is in the field again.

Michael Pruitt won the Men's City title three years in a row from 2011-13 and comes in on another hot streak. He partnered with Brady Shivers to win the Hillcrest Swinger in June, then teamed with J.D. Dickerson to take the LakeRidge Stampede in July with an eagle putt in a sudden-death playoff.

a man wearing a hat and smiling at the camera: Ashcraft © Lubbock Avalanche-Journal/Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Texas/TNS Ashcraft


at Meadowbrook Golf Course

Friday and Sunday: Canyon Course

Par: 72. Yardage: 6,522

Saturday: Creek Course

Par: 70. Yardage: 6,329

Friday's Tee Times

9 a.m.: Mike Peterson, Jeff Jenkins, Mudflap, Gary Horrol. 9:10 a.m.: Chris Speck, Roger Reynolds, Kaylob Aguirre, Paul Sutton. 9:20 a.m.: Aaron Martinez, Eric Shaff, Brian Messer, Carter Mackenzie. 9:30 a.m.: Stan McCoy, Mike Whitworth, Mark Hughes, Steve Bulen. 9:40 a.m.: Michael Seward, Anthony Caughron, Antonio Medrano, Chris Raney. 10 a.m.: Darren Densford, Ricky Moreno, Bill Gray, Randy Richardson.

Noon: Serapio Arguijo, Terry Hoover, Jeremy Dickson, Ty Fewin. 12:10 p.m.: Chris Moreno, Jerome Perez, Haffis Banire. 12:20 p.m.: Jesus Arenas, Rob Rushton, Josh Bailey. 12:40 p.m.: Chad McMillan, Ryan Hitt, Blake Ashcraft.

1 p.m.: Tommy Davis, Jason Van Kirk, John Lung. 1:10 p.m.: Tyler Chadwick, Tyler McDougal, Roger Whipkey, Jon Gonzales. 1:40 p.m.: Cord Wilburn, Ben Greene, Brandon Melville, Michael Pruitt. 1:50 p.m.: Paul Sutton, Billy West Jr., Kevin Ortiz, Aaron Mata. 2 p.m.: Bruce Marmolejo, Mike Cervantes, James Cruz, Dano Saenz, Raul Ochoa.


©2019 the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal (Lubbock, Texas)

Visit the Lubbock Avalanche-Journal (Lubbock, Texas) at

Distributed by Tribune Content Agency, LLC.


More from Lubbock Avalanche-Journal

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon