You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Tour de France 2022: Full schedule, stages, route, length, TV channel & live stream

Sporting News logo Sporting News 7/24/2022 Edward Sutelan

Is it too early to begin the Tadej Pogačar-Eddy Merckx comparisons? At this point, probably not.

At just 23 years old, Pogačar already has two Tour de France general classification titles to his name. He is the youngest cyclist to have won consecutive Tours. And Merckx himself is calling the Slovenian star "campionissimo", the champion of champions.

“It’s becoming difficult to find the words to describe what this young guy does. It’s spectacular and formidable. Pogačar is a campionissimo,” Merckx told Gazzetta dello Sport. “Considering he’s just 23, it’s incredible what he’s able to do. There’s a tendency to start winning at a younger age these days but what he’s doing is unique."

Should Pogačar win again in the 2022 general classification, he would become only the sixth cyclist to win the race three years in a row.

MORE: Watch the Tour de France live with fuboTV (free trial)

Below is everything you need to know about the 2022 Tour de France, including schedule, stage breakdown and how to watch the race.

Tour de France TV channel, how to live stream

  • TV channel: USA Network | NBC
  • Live stream: NBCSports | Peacock | fuboTV

NBC Sports will have exclusive streaming rights to the 2022 Tour de France in the U.S. Most days, NBC's streaming service Peacock will begin with exclusive coverage of the race before it shifts over to USA Network. The final stage, finishing on the Champs-Elysses, will be rebroadcast by NBC on July 24 after USA's live coverage.

Those hoping to stream the race can find it on Peacock or on fuboTV, which offers a free trial.

MORE: U.S. riders in Tour de France 2022: Sepp Kuss, Brandon McNulty, Quinn Simmons and more

Tour de France 2022 schedule

The 2022 Tour de France will begin in Copenhagen, Denmark, for an individual time trial with two more days of flat racing in Denmark before the race transfers over to France. Then, on July 5, cyclists will depart from Dunkerque. There are two rest days and 21 total days of biking.

Stage Date Length Location Coverage (ET) TV
21 July 24 116 km (72.1 miles) Paris La Defense Arena to Paris Champs-Elysees 10:30 a.m. USA (10:30 a.m.) / NBC* (2 p.m.)

* - encore presentation

Tour de France route map

What are the Tour de France stages?

Stage Date Length Location Winner
1 July 1 13.2 km (8.2 miles) Copenhagen to Copenhagen (individual time trial) Yves Lampaert
2 July 2 202.5 km (125.8 miles) Roskilde to Nyborg (flat) Fabio Jakobsen
3 July 3 182 km (113.1 miles) Vejle to Sonderborg (flat) Dylan Groenewegen
Transfer July 4 -- -- --
4 July 5 171.5 km (106.6 miles) Dunkerque to Calais (hilly) Wout van Aert
5 July 6 157 km (97.6 miles) Lille Metropole to Arenberge Porte du Hainaut (hilly) Simon Clarke
6 July 7 220 km (136.7 miles) Binche to Longwy (hilly) Tadej Pogacar
7 July 8 176.5 km (109.7 miles) Tomblaine to La Super Planche des Belles Filles (mountain) Tadej Pogacar
8 July 9 186.5 km (115.9 miles) Dole to Lausanne (hilly) Wout van Aert
9 July 10 193 km (119.9 miles) Aigle to Chatel Les Portes du Soleil (mountain) Bob Jungels
Rest day July 11 -- -- --
10 July 12 148.5 km (92.3 miles) Morzine Les Portes du Soleil to Megeve (hilly) Magnus Cort Nielsen
11 July 13 152 km (94.4 miles) Albertville to Col du Granon Serre Chevalier (mountain) Jonas Vingegaard
12 July 14 165.5 km (102.8 miles) Briancon to Alpe D'Huez (mountain) Tom Pidcock
13 July 15 193 km (119.9 miles) Le Bourg D'Oisanas to Saint-Etienne (flat) Mads Pedersen
14 July 16 192.5 km (119.6 miles) Saint-Etienne to Mende (hilly) Michael Matthews
15 July 17 202.5 km (125.8 miles) Rodez to Carcassonne (flat) Jasper Philipsen
Rest day July 18 -- -- --
16 July 19 178.5 km (110.9 miles) Carcassonne to Foix (hilly) Hugo Houle
17 July 20 130 km (80.8 miles) Saint-Gaudens to Peyragudes (mountain) Tadej Pogacar
18 July 21 143.5 km (89.2 miles) Lourdes to Hautacam (mountain) Jonas Vingegaard
19 July 22 188.5 km (117.1 miles) Castelnau-Magnoac to Cahors (flat) Christophe Laporte
20 July 23 40.7 km (25.3 miles) Lacapelle-Marival to Rocamadour (individual time trial) Wout van Aert
21 July 24 116 km (72.1 miles) Paris La Defense Arena to Paris Champs-Elysees Jasper Philipsen

How many miles is the Tour de France?

The 2022 Tour de France will run a total of 3,349.8 kilometers, or 2,081.47 miles. Last year's race was slightly longer at 3,414.4 kilometers, or 2,163.7 miles. There will be seven hilly stages, six flat stages, six mountain stages and two individual time trials. Of the six mountain stages, there will be five summit finishes.

Tour de France teams 2022

There are 22 teams in the 2022 Tour de France, with eight riders per team for a total of 176 cyclists in the field. Last year, Bahrain Victorious won the team classification, snapping a run of three straight victories by Movistar Team.

Team Country
AG2R Citroën Team France
Astana Qazaqstan Team Kazakhstan
Bahrain Victorious Bahrain
Bora-Hansgrohe Germany
Cofidis France
Ef Educations - Easypost United States
Groupama - FDJ France
Ineos Grenadiers Great Britain
Intermarché - Wanty - Gobert Matériaux Belgium
Israel-Premier Tech Israel
Jumbo-Visma Netherlands
Lotto Soudal Belgium
Movistar Team Spain
Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team Belgium
Team BikeExchange Jayco Australia
Team DSM Germany
Trek - Segafredo United States
UAE Team Emirates United Arab Emirates
Alpecin-Fenix Belgium
Team Arkea-Samsic France
B&B Hotels-KTM France
Totalenergies France

Tour de France past winners

Tadej Pogačar is looking for his third straight win in the Tour de France, which would make him the sixth cyclist to win the event in at least three consecutive years. The others are Louison Bobet (1953-55), Jacques Anquetil (1961-64), Eddy Merckx (1969-72), Miguel Induráin (1991-95) and Chris Froome (2015-17).

Lance Armstrong won seven straight races from 1999 to 2005, but his victories have been vacated due to doping.

Year Winner Nationality
2021 Tadej Pogačar Slovenia
2020 Tadej Pogačar Slovenia
2019 Egan Bernal Colombia
2018 Geraint Thomas Wales
2017 Chris Froome England
2016 Chris Froome England
2015 Chris Froome England
2014 Vincenzo Nibali Italy
2013 Chris Froome England
2012 Bradley Wiggins England
2011 Cadel Evans Australia
2010 Andy Schleck* Luxembourg
2009 Alberto Contador Spain
2008 Carlos Sastre Spain
2007 Alberto Contador Spain
2006 Oscar Pereiro** Spain
2005 Lance Armstrong*** USA
2004 Lance Armstrong*** USA
2003 Lance Armstrong*** USA
2002 Lance Armstrong*** USA
2001 Lance Armstrong*** USA
2000 Lance Armstrong*** USA
1999 Lance Armstrong*** USA
1998 Marco Pantani Italy

*Alberto Contador won the race, but failed a drug test later

**Floyd Landis won the race, but failed a drug test later

***Lance Armstrong has had all his titles vacated due to doping. No winner was named in his place. 


More From Sporting News

Sporting News
Sporting News
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon