You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Dave Chappelle to Receive Mark Twain Prize for American Humor from Kennedy Center

TheWrap logo TheWrap 5/7/2019 Brian Welk
Dave Chappelle sitting in front of a curtain © TheWrap dave chappelle

Dave Chappelle, the comedian and star of "Chappelle's Show" and recently, "A Star is Born," will be the 22nd annual recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts announced Tuesday.

Chappelle will receive the prize at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall on Oct. 27. The gala will then be broadcast on PBS on Jan. 6, 2020.

Last year's winner of the prize was "Veep" star Julia Louis-Dreyfus, and previous recipients are Richard Pryor (1998), Jonathan Winters (1999), Carl Reiner (2000), Whoopi Goldberg (2001), Bob Newhart (2002), Lily Tomlin (2003), Lorne Michaels (2004), Steve Martin (2005), Neil Simon (2006), Billy Crystal (2007), George Carlin (2008), Bill Cosby (2009; rescinded in 2018), Tina Fey (2010), Will Ferrell (2011), Ellen DeGeneres (2012), Carol Burnett (2013), Jay Leno (2014), Eddie Murphy (2015), Bill Murray (2016) and David Letterman (2017).

In 2017, Chappelle celebrated 30 years in comedy by releasing four stand-up specials on Netflix and a residency at the Radio City Music Hall in New York City. Chappelle won his first Primetime Emmy in 2017 for his hosting "Saturday Night Live," and he won again in 2018 for his stand-up special "Equanimity."

The event will be co-chaired by Tamia and Grant Hill.

The event was created by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Bob Kaminsky, Peter Kaminsky, Mark Krantz, and John Schreiber.

Related video: Dave Chappelle Surprises Fans With Show Tickets (via Inside Edition)


More From The Wrap

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon